Beta Project

Uncategorized

https://rubyritajones.wixsite.com/my-site

Project Developmental Trajectory

The production of the Easycare Down Under website began as a slow burn, after receiving feedback from the pitch and taking what Ted said onboard I tried using the program WordPress. However, I struggled when using a base template, as I was unable to access the functionality that online stores need without investing money. Then moving forward in the trajectory of the prototype by deciding to work on both a Wix and WordPress website and even reaching out to a local business at the top of its profession to see how they dealt with their online presence regarding their website. I decided that investing the money to upgrade to the e-commerce plan would be a good learning experience in how to use these functionalities. I was investing in my future by learning how to use WordPress. Personally, I have found the program Wix easier to use and have spoken with the client and explaining my plan to make both websites and keeping them updated with my progress.

The goals originally pitched are still the main focus of this advanced digital project.

  • Design
  • Accessibility
  • Functionality

Overall my experience with the WordPress e-commerce site is still lacking the knowledge to create and design a fully functional website prototype. Hence, the prototype I have submitted is the Wix website. This website is a good example of how the WordPress website will look and function, once I spent more time developing and learning the tools and accessibilities WordPress e-commerce has to offer.

The significance of the Wix website is that once I have learnt the layout of WordPress I will make the seamless transfer of information and design from one platform to the other. There is an importance to having the Wix website prototype as a template and an example of what needs to be included in the finished product.

Evidence (Feedback loops)

I reached out to another local business, local business, The Cupitt’s Estate, one of the largest producers of wine on the south coast. I was speaking to a friend about what was happening with WordPress and they explained that their marketing team had just refurbished their website and that I should reach out to their facilities manager Lorna O’Sullivan-Milford and ask the question

“As one of the most successful businesses in our local area! How did Cupitt’s Estate differentiate its online presence compared to other businesses? 
Did you have any issues regarding your website, if so how did you solve those problems? “

Lorna was more than happy to discuss and help me with my first feedback loop. She explained the recent shift to an Australian managed site, was a necessary change as customer and staff experience using their original site didn’t function properly. Cupitt’s Estate made the decision to swap on a personal preference and have outsourced a company to run and manage their site.

Unfortunately, Easycare Down Under has had a bad experience with outsourcing regarding their online store and would prefer to manage it themselves once it is set up.

Another useful feedback loop was a user test I completed with the help of my Mother, Jo Jones. Jo completed a 15min online user test to find any bugs or issues that might be overlooked in the designing/creating phase.

Jo established that the site had too many menus and suggested that there should be one shop menu with other drop-down options for the sub-categories. Jo also thought that the original design of buttons looked tacky and suggested photos would make the website look less “cheap” These were helpful suggestions and ones I took onboard.

She described the website as

“An easy website to manoeuvre and found the products you’re after. The design is simple and the pictures are good” – Jo Jones

Finally, I had many conversations over the phone and in-person with the client regarding design such as colour palette and typography among many other design decisions. To the right is a screenshot of a conversation with the clients when the first draft was accessible.

I have successfully simplified the design of the website and made it accessible to portable devices, which you will see in the beta video below.

Overall, the project itself has stayed the same as the original pitch, with only slight iterations to design, with the main one being the suggestion from Ted to switch platforms from Wix to WordPress which is currently in the works to be completed by the due date.

Beta Video Below:

Leave a comment